spraying zinsser 123 primer with hvlp

Start spraying in the air. This will help ensure that the primer sprays evenly and doesn't clog your sprayer tip. Thank you for your replies! Every time the discussion of HVLP comes up, I refer to what I have, which is a HVLP C.A.T gun with a pressure pot that requires compressed air from a motor and pump. I'm an air compressor mechanic and a businessman. Tip: Many primers are no longer water-soluble after drying. Our village hasn't lost it's idiot, he was elected to congress. 2023 J. Wagner GmbH - All rights reserved. Can the primer be diluted? This will help prevent runs and drips in the finish . Choose the right type of Kilz for your project. If you are not using BIN alcohol, what are you using for a primer? I'm priming some MDF for use as utility shelving and it's a bit thick to apply easily. Also, they sell a spray can version of Zinsser 123, but I'm not certain it can be sprayed with just any spray gun. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission, which supports our community. Come join the discussion about the industry, safety, finishing, tools, machinery, projects, styles, scales, reviews, accessories, classifieds, and more! But there's no need to worry many primers are now certified as low-pollutant, eco-friendly and safe for interior use. Lifespan. When applying Zinsser 123 with an HVLP sprayer, it's important to thin the primer according to the manufacturer's directions. Of the three primers Ive talked about today though, this is number 3. These types of products are often called hybrids or water based alkyds. Keep them clean. 3. Ensure that the spraying distance and angle of the spray head to the surface remain constant. Out of the can it is quite thick, and from what I have been able to find, it can be thinned up to ~7-10% with water. I've used it many times and their primers are some of the best. BEST OVERALL: Rust-Oleum Zinsser Bulls Eye 1-2-3 Water-Base Primer. My first foray